Displaying data from a list box to output

RickyUser6

Programming Experience
1-3
Hello guys,
Ive been reading the forums and links for the past 2 days, very useful stuff!

Now my question,
I have a listbox that I loaded with a .txt file and I want to click on a selection in the list box and have that selection appear on another list box.

I want to search the .txt file and grab the selection that matches and print the whole line. But im stuck!

I have

Dim strSpecialties As String
strSpecialties = CStr(lstSpecialties.Items(lstSpecialties.SelectedIndex))

So the selection is stored on strSpecialties.

So how do I go and match this selection from the .txt file? I'm very new at this.

Thanks

First off, assuming that you have added String objects to the ListBox in the first place then just use the SelectedItem instead of the item at the SelectedIndex:
VB.NET:
[SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Dim[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] strSpecialties [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]As [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]String[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] = [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]CStr[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2](lstSpecialties.SelectedItem)[/SIZE]
If you have added some other type of objects, like if you have bound data to the control, you should use GetItemText to get the displayed string:
VB.NET:
[SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Dim[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] strSpecialties [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]As [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]String[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] = [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]CStr[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2]([/SIZE][SIZE=2]lstSpecialties.GetItemText([/SIZE][SIZE=2]lstSpecialties.[/SIZE][SIZE=2]SelectedItem))[/SIZE]
As for your question, it's not really clear what you mean by "match this selection from the .txt file". What exactly do you want to get from the file? The selected item if it is there? The whole line that contins the selected item? Something else?

hey man, thanks for the reply!