DataGridView Get ID

AccessDev

Programming Experience
Beginner
Dear All Experienced VB.NET Programmers,

I am new to vb.net and I am using VS 2005 Professional and have a DGV bound to a table.

I can upload my binary data to the DB Table and display the results in the DGV.

I have a textbox called textbox1 and pass the textbox1.text to the sql query to download the related data from the DB.

e.g
Dim da As New SqlDataAdapter("SELECT ImgField FROM MyImages WHERE ID = " & TextBox1.Text, con)

I click the download button and the file downloads.

Is there a way I can dynamically get the ID from the Click event on the DGV.

I hope this makes sense. I can elaborate more if needed.

yes, you need to use the e.RowIndex and e.ColumnIndex

something along the lines of (this may not be right, I use an addon grid which makes getting column values very simple)

dataGridView.Rows[e.RowIndex].Cells[e.ColumnIndex].FormattedValue.ToString()

that should be a starting point for you, as I say, the wording may not be correct...

using the follwoing code.
TextBox1.Text = DataGridView1.Rows(e.RowIndex).Cells(e.ColumnIndex).FormattedValue.ToString()

the user must click the text in the Cell ID column to get the ID. I need to get the ID of the row no matter what cell was clicked by the user. Thanks for your reply.

I can upload my binary data to the DB Table and display the results in the DGV.
Ugh.

I have a textbox called textbox1 and pass the textbox1.text to the sql query to download the related data from the DB.

e.g
Dim da As New SqlDataAdapter("SELECT ImgField FROM MyImages WHERE ID = " & TextBox1.Text, con)
Yeah, dont do that. To find out why not, read the PQ link in my signature. TO find out how to do that properly, read the DW2 link in my signature, section "Creating a SImple Data App" then "Creating a Form to Search Data"

Is there a way I can dynamically get the ID from the Click event on the DGV.