Creating a new form

hendrikbez

Programming Experience
1-3
I am new to vb.net, and I want to make a customize winsows form for my sine-in form, it will be a cross, how do I Use the graphics in vb.net 2003.:eek:

Thanks

The way i would go about this is to override the 'OnPaint' event of your form. Then in that event declare a New GraphicsPath. i.e

Dim gp as New GraphicsPath

Then using that graphics paths 'Addline' method build your cross. i.e

gp.Addline(Place code here to build the first line of your cross)... Then the
same again....
gp.addline(the next line of your cross)

And so-on untill you have your desired shape. You can then fill your shape using the gp.fillpath method with any type of brush that you like.

Then set the backcolor of the form to a color that you are NOT going to use anywhere in that form. Then set the transparency key of the form to that color. Now when you load your form your cross should appear and the rest of the form should appear transparent.

Is this enough information for you?:)

No problem.

select the combobox in the the top left corner of the IDE and click on OVERRIDES then over to the declarations combobox and select 'ONPAINT'

This will open up the 'Overrides OnPaint' event
This means that you are telling VS.Net that you are going to handle the drawing of this control(which is essentially what a form is)

Inside that event Write......

[Dim MyGraphicsPath As New GraphicsPath]
(you dont have to use MyGraphicsPath it could be your name if you wanted!!)
So now you have your graphicspath object you can use it to do loads of cool stuff. For example..

[MyGraphicsPath.AddLine(10,20,50,20)
Will add a very short straight lint to your graphicspath. When you want to draw it to the screen, if you look in the parameters of the 'Overrides OnPaint' event to will see...

[Byval e as .......painteventargs]

Therefore 'e' is the surface on which you are going to draw. So to draw our graphicspath on this surface we simply call...