Combobox populate textbox?

Tacec

Programming Experience
1-3
Hello,

I know this is a fairly simple process, but i can't seem to find anything to help me. I have a combobox with a list of values (non bound). I have a textbox. I want the value when selectedvaluechanged in the combobox to populate the textbox and keep appending to the textbox whenever another item is selected in the combobox. Each item listed in the textbox needs to be separated by commas.

Fairly straightforward, right? I can't find any code for vb, only c#. The basic for what i have is just combobox.text = textbox.text. But it's the append part that's got me.

I know there must be a foreach loop in there or something but I'm pretty new to vb.net so i'm struggling here. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Last edited:
Oops, thanks, you're right. I switched those two around. Here's what i have so far and it doesn't append anything, it just keeps changing the text in the textbox to what i select in the combobox:

VB.NET:
Private Sub AppendTextBox1Text()
        If TextBox1.Text = "" Then
            Return
        Else
            TextBox1.AppendText(UiComboBox1.SelectedValue)
        End If
    End Sub

Private Sub UiComboBox1_SelectedIndexChanged(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles UiComboBox1.SelectedIndexChanged
        AppendTextBox1Text()
        TextBox1.Text = UiComboBox1.Text

End Sub

This doesn't even address the commas i need to separate the text.

Help?

You append something in the AppendTextBox1Text method but then you blow that away immediately after by setting the Text property explicitly. Do NOT set the Text property at all. Call AppendText ONLY.

Also, you will have to think a bit harder how that's going to work because what if the user uses the keyboard to scroll through the items in the ComboBox? The way you're trying to do it will add every item to the TextBox.

Thank you for your help.