Combobox listing

softhard

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello,
I have two comboboxes and each have some strings inside them. if the user select one string in one combobox should list respective items in other combobx. Is there any good way to do it? I am new to VB.net!

Hi,

Here is an example of how to populate the contents of a second combo box based on the value of a first combo box.

Create a new form, add two combo boxes and then replace the code behind with the below.

VB.NET:
Public Class Form1

Private Sub Form1_Load(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
    ComboBox1.Items.Add("a")
    ComboBox1.Items.Add("b")
    ComboBox1.Items.Add("c")
    ComboBox1.Items.Add("d")
    ComboBox1.Items.Add("e")
    ComboBox2.Enabled = False
  End Sub

Private Sub ComboBox1_SelectedIndexChanged(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles ComboBox1.SelectedIndexChanged
    Dim strWords As String() = {"able", "Arable", "Born", "Bored", "cheese", "chaff", "change", "delta", "done"}
    Dim NewComboList As IEnumerable(Of String) = (From Words In strWords Where Words.Substring(0, 1) = ComboBox1.SelectedItem Select Words)

With ComboBox2
      .SelectedIndex = -1
      .Items.Clear()
    End With
    For Each Word In NewComboList
      ComboBox2.Items.Add(Word)
    Next
    ComboBox2.Enabled = True
  End Sub
End Class
Obviously you need to adapt these combo boxes to accommodate your own code and data sources but the principle will be the same although the selection criteria for combo box 2 will be different depending on what you are trying to do.

Good Luck,

Ian

Hello,
In the given code, it is listing only based on the first letter. It is not working in m case even i arrange the strings.

Private Sub ComboBox2_SelectedIndexChanged(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles ComboBox2.SelectedIndexChanged