Question closing previous window when new window opens

razz

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am very new to VB.Net and am using Visual Basic 2008 Express Edition.
I have 2 questions:

(1) For any posts in the future, is Visual Basic 2008 Express usually referred to as VB Studio 2008?

(2) I have written a program and wish to close previous window when the new window opens. What code would I need to use to accomplish this?

Example:

Public Class MainPanel

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
PerformDaily.Show()

As you know...this opens form "PerfrormDaily", but form "MainPanel" remains open.

Thank you for your help.

1) VB 2008, VB 08

2) You have basically 2 options you can hide MainPanel -- Me.Hide() or you can actually close the window -- Me.Close()

You will need to decided which is better for your program. Do you switch back and forth between forms? Will you need to 'reset' the variables, properties, etc... when you move to the new? Are you using an MDI or SDI application (Multiple Document Interface or Single Document Interface) ? By no means is this a complete list of things to consider when opening and closing forms.

2) You have basically 2 options you can hide MainPanel -- Me.Hide() or you can actually close the window -- Me.Close()

You will need to decided which is better for your program. Do you switch back and forth between forms? Will you need to 'reset' the variables, properties, etc... when you move to the new? Are you using an MDI or SDI application (Multiple Document Interface or Single Document Interface) ? By no means is this a complete list of things to consider when opening and closing forms.