Question Changing Sql Server Database reference at run time

VentureFree

Programming Experience
5-10
I'm new to using datasets and I'm not sure if I can actually accomplish what I'm trying to do, so I want to verify before I mess something up.

Basically, if I create a dataset called MyDataSet in my data access layer at build time pointing to a table called MyData, and I have two different databases that it could potentially point to (i.e. MyDatabase and MyTestDatabase which is essentially an exact copy of MyDatabase purely for testing), can I decide at run-time which database to point to?

My initial guess is that I can simply change the ConnectionString at run time and have it connect to whichever one I want. For example, I could do the following:
VB.NET:
Dim MyTable As MyDataSet.MyDataSetDataTable
Dim MyAdapter As New MyDataSetTableAdapters.MyDataTableAdapter()
' Assuming that MyAdapter has a Connection String already defined which points it to MyDatabase
If (Me.Testing = True) Then
    'TestConnectionString is a connection string that points to MyTestDatabase
    MyAdapter .Connection.ConnectionString = TestConnectionString
End If
' The following should get data from the original database if Testing = False, and from the test database if Testing = True, right?
MyTable = MyAdapter.GetData()
At this point, since MyTestDatabase is basically an exact copy of MyDatabase, any Updates/Inserts/Deletes/etc... should affect the test database and not the original database without having to include any other code, right?

Or would that cause problems since I created the data set at build time meaning it's expecting that specific connection string?

I've got to remember that I can test things myself

Okay, I created some dummy tables and tested this out myself. I can actually do this, but with a few modifications to my original code (which I wrote without testing anyway).
VB.NET:
Dim MyTable As MyDataSet.MyDataSetDataTable