Can't get my table to take data from my form...

wings9697

Programming Experience
10+
Hi all,

I am new at VB.net, so bear with me... :confused: I have built a set of web forms to take in data in reference to investigations. No field manipulation, just straight data entry.

I have tried different ways to get data in, but the info doesn't get posted to the table.

First I tried the Dataset method, but it told me I was referencing a null dataset, but I am able to open it and look at it.
strConn="Server=.\SQLExpress;AttachDbFilename=C:\Projects\mclu_caselog.mdf;Integrated Security=True;Connect Timeout=30;User Instance=True"

Dim NewCase As New DataSet
Dim rowNewCase As DataRow
Dim ncSql As New SqlConnection(strConn)

ncSql.Open()

rowNewCase = NewCase.Tables("caselog").NewRow()
rowNewCase("case_cses_num") = TextBox1.Text
rowNewCase("case_agentnum") = TextBox2.Text
rowNewCase("case_ccn") = TextBox3.Text
rowNewCase("case_location") = TextBox7.Text
rowNewCase("case_complname") = TextBox9.Text
rowNewCase("case_compfname") = TextBox10.Text
rowNewCase("case_district") = TextBox4.Text
rowNewCase("case_psa") = TextBox5.Text
rowNewCase("case_leadtechlname") = TextBox11.Text
rowNewCase("case_leadtechfname") = TextBox12.Text
rowNewCase("case_asstechlname") = TextBox15.Text
rowNewCase("case_asstechfname") = TextBox16.Text
rowNewCase("case_leaddetlname") = TextBox13.Text
rowNewCase("case_leaddetfname") = TextBox14.Text
rowNewCase("case_evtdate") = CType(TextBox6.Text, Date)
rowNewCase("case_rptdate") = CType(TextBox19.Text, Date)
rowNewCase("case_off_inc") = TextBox8.Text
rowNewCase("case_photo") = CheckBox1.Checked
rowNewCase("case_evidence") = CheckBox2.Checked
rowNewCase("case_prints") = CheckBox3.Checked
rowNewCase("case_diagram") = CheckBox4.Checked
rowNewCase("case_section") = TextBox17.Text
rowNewCase("case_notes") = TextBox18.Text

NewCase.Tables("caselog").Rows.Add(rowNewCase)

ncSql.Close()