Question Calling the API function FileTimeToSystemTime

srelu

Programming Experience
Beginner
I'm a VC programmer, ocasionally I try to get familiar with VB.NET, but frankly each time I quit being disapointed by its limitations. But that's not the point. Somebody asked me for help to write the VB.NET code to list the browsing history.

First I wrote it in VC, it works nice. Now I managed to do the same in VB, except the fact that I'm unable to deal with the conversion from FILETIME to SYSTEMTIME. I'm supposed to call the API function FileTimeToSystemTime but it doesn't work. The problem is that I don't have any experience using COM in VB.NET. There's (at least) one error in my code, but I can't find it.

Here's a sample, simplified as much as possible. I created a Windows Forms application, leaving everything with the default values. The whole code associated with Form1 follows:

VB.NET:
Imports System.Runtime.InteropServices
Public Class Form1
	Private Structure SYSTEMTIME
		Public wYear As Short
		Public wMonth As Short
		Public wDayOfWeek As Short
		Public wDay As Short
		Public wHour As Short
		Public wMinute As Short
		Public wSecond As Short
		Public wMilliseconds As Short
	End Structure
	<DllImport("kernel32.dll", SetLastError:=True, CharSet:=CharSet.Auto)> _
	 Private Shared Function FileTimeToSystemTime( _
	 ByRef lpFileTime As IntPtr, _
	 ByRef lpSystemTime As IntPtr _
	 ) As Integer
	End Function

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
		Dim SysTimeBfr As IntPtr = Marshal.AllocHGlobal(Marshal.SizeOf(GetType(SYSTEMTIME)))
		Dim FileTimeBfr As IntPtr = Marshal.AllocHGlobal(Marshal.SizeOf(GetType(ComTypes.FILETIME)))
		Dim SysTime As SYSTEMTIME
		Dim FileTime As ComTypes.FILETIME
		FileTime.dwHighDateTime = 29992273
		FileTime.dwLowDateTime = -23761104 ' I swear these values are valid
		Marshal.StructureToPtr(FileTime, FileTimeBfr, True)