brand new to visual studio

philfer

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi,

I am new to visual studio having used vba with excel and access and trying to improve my programming. I have a few questions that may seem easy and silly to most people but I would appreciate any help.

1) In a book I read it said the systems requirements for visual studio are :-

1.8Ghz processor
2GB RAM
5GB Hard disk space

is this true? It seems like a lot

2) When you install visual studio can you simply start programming using VB.Net and C#.Net or do you have to get these separately

3) How much is visual studio

4) This may seem the most silly question - if I have software which requires 2GB of RAM and another piece of software that needs 3GB of RAm does my system need 3GB or just 2GB and I can only run one at a time?? Do I also need to make allowances for the RAM used by the op system and thus if a piece of software i.e. visual studio needs 2GB of RAM (as I read) do I need to have at least 3/4 to make allowances for the power the sys and other background procs will need?

Thanks a million in advance for all your help
Phil

1. Those are the specs you should have if you want acceptable performance. It doesn't mean it won't work with less but things like building large projects might be slow.

2. Visual Studio contains all you need as a beginner.

3. The Express Editions are free, which is probably what you should start with.

Hi,

Thanks for your answer.

Did you have any ideas on question 4). It is probably an easy answer for most computer savvy people but I get confused.

Also, with the express edition of VS can I simply start using VB.Net and C#.Net straight after installing it?

Cheers
Phil