Autopopulate Primary Key in Form

curlyq

Programming Experience
Beginner
Warning, extreme newbie here - plain English required! I have an sql database that auto-populates a primary key field in a table and increments by 1 - it works fine when entering data directly into the table. As I am trying to create a form for an application - I would like for the primary key to be a read only id that is filled out in the form when it loads, no user input needed. But when adding data through the form it asks for an entry since it is not a 'null' field. Right now I have the "id" control as a read-only text box. Thanks for any help.

How EXACTLY are you saving the data to the database? Most commonly, you'd use a DataTable to store data locally and populate that first, then save your changes from the DataTable back to the database using a data adapter or table adapter. In that case, the DataTable can generate an ID for you when you create the record if it's configured appropriately.

It's important to note that that is just a temporary ID though. It is useful for identifying the record locally before you save it, particularly if you want to create related child records. The real ID will still be generated by the database when you save and that can be retrieved back into the DataTable if desired. The final ID will often be the same as the temporary ID but there is no guarantee of that so you should never rely on it.

If you absolutely must know the final ID before saving the record then you can use a sequence, which is a fairly new feature in SQL Server that allows you to have the database generate a sequential ID for you, just like an identity, but have it done before saving new records. Unlike an identity, a sequence is managed separately to a table.