Auto update

pitaridis

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
63
Programming Experience
10+
Can someone tell me how I can develop an Auto update for my application? I know how to download the new file but how can I delete the current file and replace it with the new at the moment that the old file is running?

Aristotelis
 

JohnH

VB.NET Forum Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
15,286
Location
Norway
Programming Experience
10+
ClickOnce has this feature built in. Go to project properties, Publish tab and click 'Updates..' button. This bring the dialog where this can be set up with a few checkboxes and radio options.
 

pitaridis

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
63
Programming Experience
10+
The thread that you indicated does not say anything about the ClickOnce.

I do not know what ClickOnce is. Is it some kind of plug in for the visual studio?
 

JohnH

VB.NET Forum Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
15,286
Location
Norway
Programming Experience
10+
ClickOnce is the deployment tool included in all versions of Visual Studio 2005.

Is your profile wrong perhaps? (Primary Platform: .NET 2.0 (VS 2005))
 

pitaridis

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
63
Programming Experience
10+
I found how to build the ClickOnce system for my application but can someone tell me how to produce a setup which will be able to be used by someone without access to the internet. In order to update the application the user could use a menu command inside the application.
 

ImDaFrEaK

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
416
Location
California
Programming Experience
5-10
This is probably a stupid questio,n but can you use the auto update feature without using the ClickOnce as your setup process? I prefer to add a setup process to my software b/c it is more flexable. That is unless I don't fully understand ClickOnce. I just think ClickOnce is too limited.
 

ImDaFrEaK

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
416
Location
California
Programming Experience
5-10
Can I customize the ClickOnce feature to make installations like I can with the Setup Projects? I really like the ClickOnce feature but I still have not used it b/c I havn't found a way to really customize the setup process. I havn't dug very far into either but maybe some one here has.
 

KjsBrian

New member
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
2
Programming Experience
10+
If click-once doesn't work for you, check out AppLife Update. A completely flexible, extensible, and customizable auto update solution for .Net applications.
 
Top Bottom