ASPX page loses formatting after executing script

ccbryan

Programming Experience
5-10
Hi. I am an ASP newbie working on someone else's page, and I need a little guidance...

The page (call it Page A) contains formatting (CSS style sheet). I have added a button to the form that displays a Word document in a new window.

VB.NET:
   Protected Sub btnSpecSheet_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnSpecSheet.Click
        Dim specstyle As String
        If Me.txtStyle.Text > "" Then
            Try
                specstyle = Me.txtStyle.Text
                Response.Write("<script>")
                Response.Write("window.open('Specsheets/" & specstyle & ".doc','_blank')")
                Response.Write("</script>")
                Me.txtStyle.Text = ""
            Catch ex As Exception
                Dim cerror As String
                cerror = ex.InnerException.ToString()
            End Try

End If
    End Sub

This works fine, but when the specsheet document is closed, Page A has lost some of its style sheet formatting. That is, the page (within the browser window) has shifted to the left and formatting of a contained grid control is lost (de-bolded, column alignment).

There is a button ('Submit') that the previous developer created that kicks off some VB processing and refreshes the page with the proper datagrid, and this button does not have the formatting effects of my btnspecsheet. Debugging, I can see that Submit sends the process back through the page's HTML, though I can't figure out why.

button Submit's VB code:

VB.NET:
    Protected Sub ButtonSubmit_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles ButtonSubmit.Click
        Dim strSelected As String = Trim(RadioButtonListInquiryType.SelectedItem.Text)

If strSelected = "Invoices" Then
            Me.lblStyle.Visible = False
            Me.txtStyle.Visible = False
            Me.btnSpecSheet.Visible = False